Setting Some Free

Smoky_Mountains_Sunrise-1

Smoky_Mountains_Sunrise-3

Smoky_Mountains_Sunrise-2

I planned on working through all my photos from my recent trip to the Smoky Mountains, process them tediously, and then post them. But that might take a long time, given my propensity to obsess. Processing is where I usually get lost in the weeds, and sometimes, it’s just a matter of setting them free—where they often don’t look much different from the originals once the five alternate versions are deleted.

This is—and this is what I’m terrible about—somewhere in the Smoky Mountains :) Is that good? It was in the National Park in east Tennessee on the way to Cades Cove. The first was taken before dawn and with some NDFs as it was still pretty dark at that time. The second is obviously when the sun broke and the last is zoomed clip taken about 10 minutes after the sun broke. Enjoy, and will have some more up soon.


10 thoughts on “Setting Some Free

  1. You’re not alone … I’m not always good at knowing the name of the place where a photo is. When we took an Alaskan cruise a couple of years ago, I returned with the requisite bazillion photos, and, mostly, they’re all just called “Alaska”. :-)

    The first time I saw the Smokies, I was a little amused. I live in Denver, at the foot of the Rockies, and, I was rather amused that these little hills were called mountains. But, once I got to see more of them, the amusement wore off. The Smokies, and The Blue Ridge … beautiful places. And, these are great shots!

  2. Hi Brandon – beautiful pictures, absolutely beautiful! I’m in two minds about the location thing >>> and I’m soon to post a shot from Kenya that has nothing recorded on the original slide at all – so I’ve no idea – but its a good image and I’m certainly not going to let it gather dust somewhere just because I don’t have its “credentials”!

    I suppose that has to be the priority for me – the image comes first; and the credentials second, although it is of course good to know where and when pictures were taken. But the image is the primary thing. Adrian

  3. I’m pleased you have liberated these images: they are wonderful!

    In a similar way to your angst about specific locations, I used to worry about correctly identifying plants and insects. Some of my earlier posts would read like a biology lesson with correct botanical labelling of parts, and Latin names and so on. These days, I am more relaxed about such things and if I’m not sure of a flower’s name I will still post – purely for aesthetic reasons.

    Looking forward to more images being freed ……. !

Leave a Reply

Cogtography

© 2014 Tom Coghill Photography, All Rights Reserved

Cardinal Guzman

Encyclopedia Miscellaneous - 'quality' blogging since August 2011

Cfbookchick - a Girl, a Camera, a Challenge...

The goal is not to change your subjects, but for the subject to change the photographer.

Spiderpaw's Blog

Photography as I see it

HDR shooter

HDR photos by Miroslav Petrasko

Captured by Pam

A click a day keeps creativity at bay.

Photo-Q

photography by Joshua Quattlebaum

Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Everyday, an Adventure.

Herding Cats. Treading Water.

Lightscapes Nature Photography Blog

Kerry Mark Leibowitz's musings on the wonderful world of nature photography

Mufidah Kassalias

Writer, Photographer & Slow-Travelling Digital Nomad

Imagery of Light

Photography by Sheila Creighton

PHOTOGRAPHIC MEMORY

A Free To Share Chronicle by Michael Xavier Ortiz

Digital Darkroom Techniques

Sharing ideas and how-to's about post processing your digital images

Steven Tze Photography

Journey from picture taker to photographer

A Quan Ha Photo

my life, one photo at a time

Emily's Photography Blog

Every picture has a story to tell... verbally or silently.

FATman Photos

Looking at - and seeing - the world

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,023 other followers

