The view

Pictured above, an old silo in the Caspiana area. This silo was missing the roof and had these windows busted out, and busted out in a neat manner. I walked around this place several times and couldn’t trace any makeshift occupancy in the silo. I have no idea why there was a window busted through the side for a view of nearby highway and train tracks. Usually when I tromp through these modern ruins, I can place their decay into perspective. I couldn’t circle a likable history for this window neatly holed through the wall of the silo.

7 thoughts on “The view

  1. I’ve just been wondering through your blog and it has been hugely inspirational to me. I’m new to the whole blogging/posting thing and in seeing your blog I realise now what/where I have been going wrong. Your photo’s are excellent. Thank you. A.Wally

    • Thanks. That is a flattering comment because I feel like I’ve just been shooting from the hip with this photo blog. I’ve only been wayfaring through this stuff for a few months. The processing side—Photoshop—I have self-taught experience from my job as technical writing and design. On photography, I knew nothing and now only know a little. I look back on my earlier posts and there are dozens of things I would change. Thanks again for the words. I’ve looked at some of your archived “patterns” and was impressed. You’ve got a good eye for bringing out a uniqueness in things people ordinarily pass right by.

    • One exposure slightly to the right in RAW format. Since I metered the wall for exposure, the background outside the window was overexposed. I used Lightroom’s “recovery” feature to bring that exposure back to a better state and then did a global sharpen that brought the cracks out better.

Leave a Reply

Cogtography

© 2014 Tom Coghill Photography, All Rights Reserved

Cardinal Guzman

Encyclopedia Miscellaneous - 'quality' blogging since August 2011

Jeff Sinon Photography

Nature Through The Lens

Cfbookchick - a Girl, a Camera, a Challenge...

The goal is not to change your subjects, but for the subject to change the photographer.

Spiderpaw's Blog

Photography as I see it

HDR shooter

HDR photos by Miroslav Petrasko

Captured by Pam

A click a day keeps creativity at bay.

Photo-Q

photography by Joshua Quattlebaum

Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Everyday, an Adventure.

Herding Cats. Treading Water.

Lightscapes Nature Photography Blog

Kerry Mark Leibowitz's musings on the wonderful world of nature photography

Mufidah Kassalias

Writer, Photographer & Slow-Travelling Digital Nomad

Imagery of Light

Photography by Sheila Creighton

PHOTOGRAPHIC MEMORY

A Free To Share Chronicle by Michael Xavier Ortiz

Digital Darkroom Techniques

Sharing ideas and how-to's about post processing your digital images

Steven Tze Photography

Journey from picture taker to photographer

A Quan Ha Photo

my life, one photo at a time

Emily's Photography Blog

Every picture has a story to tell... verbally or silently.

