Meltdown

Another abandoned house on Hwy 1. This one had about two miles of nothing before and after it along the highway, and I imagine it was quite picturesque a few decades ago. The house has the same shotgun floor plan but the facade varies differently than most I’ve came across in this area.  A peek through the window revealed a definite hardhat area and the floor was rotted out. I also heard some kind of animal scurrying for shelter in there. I took a pass on this one and did not enter.

As for processing, I did some color experimenting.  While I’ve been focusing on black and white for the dreamy and darker mood it casts on these abandoned subjects I’ve been exploring, I’m hitting a little B&W burnout. I did process a B&W version but sent it over to my B&W project on Flickr. The one above began with a split-toning. I duplicated and then Gaussian blurred the new layer. Then I masked back and forth to get a sort of diffused vignette. Then I did several tone curve masks to get the lighting and contrast set. Then I layered in one final rectangular vignette.

3 thoughts on “Meltdown

  1. Beautiful shot. I think you got the colours just right. The trees really make the shot though the way they are reaching out over the house. Looks like a run down haunted house to me.

  2. I keep expecting to see a ghoulish face in one of the windows. I like the effect you have, it gives the image a hazy, dream-like nightmarish feel.
    Much Love
    Astra Wally

Leave a Reply

Cogtography

© 2014 Tom Coghill Photography, All Rights Reserved

Cardinal Guzman

Encyclopedia Miscellaneous - 'quality' blogging since August 2011

Jeff Sinon Photography

Nature Through The Lens

Cfbookchick - a Girl, a Camera, a Challenge...

The goal is not to change your subjects, but for the subject to change the photographer.

Spiderpaw's Blog

Photography as I see it

HDR shooter

HDR photos by Miroslav Petrasko

Captured by Pam

A click a day keeps creativity at bay.

Photo-Q

photography by Joshua Quattlebaum

Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Everyday, an Adventure.

Herding Cats. Treading Water.

Lightscapes Nature Photography Blog

Kerry Mark Leibowitz's musings on the wonderful world of nature photography

Mufidah Kassalias

Writer, Photographer & Slow-Travelling Digital Nomad

Imagery of Light

Photography by Sheila Creighton

PHOTOGRAPHIC MEMORY

A Free To Share Chronicle by Michael Xavier Ortiz

Digital Darkroom Techniques

Sharing ideas and how-to's about post processing your digital images

Steven Tze Photography

Journey from picture taker to photographer

A Quan Ha Photo

my life, one photo at a time

Emily's Photography Blog

Every picture has a story to tell... verbally or silently.

