Some more old ghosts

Some more Spanish moss-scapes if you can tolerate it.

When I first starting wayfaring in photography, I simply picked up a 13mp Sony PS and went down to the river to shoot around sunset. The best photos were of an armadillo nosing around a trash can and I could have told someone they were of a pterodactyl riding a lawnmower. In sum, it was indecipherable of whatever was in those photos. I had a few more outings with a borrowed dSLR that ended with the same disappointments and worse since I was guess-timating with a camera that was way over my head at that time. I broke down and started studying up on the internet and saw some progress. Then I had a surreal day and it happened with Spanish moss. I took my daughter down to the pictured area, the same dried up lake as previous posts. It was 105 degrees and we were walking down a slight hill. There was a grove of cypress trees with the moss lifting slightly from rare breezes we catch here in the summer. I framed up some pictures and then looking down into the display, I knew I had something, and from what I studied about histograms, it confirmed it. I took some more pictures and then my daughter and I played around on some logs late into the evening until the mosquitoes were too much to handle.

On the way home, my daughter dozed off in the back seat, and I was listening to the new album of one of my favorite bands, Against Me!. A song came on that instantly roped me in and then with strange coincidence, the singer referred to Spanish moss. I looked down at the mp3 player display and saw “Spanish Moss” scrolling across the screen. (pretty cool new video of said song here). Like I prefaced, it was a very surreal day. When I got home I downloaded the stick and found some more bad photos. Then I found some pretty decent ones of the moss. After probably way too many hours of processing, I felt good about sharing one of the moss pictures. My blog activity tripled over the next few days and I finally sensed progress.

I was born in the deep south but it has taken me decades to become a southerner. I often felt alienated by the over-generalizing clichés that both locals and tourist over do—crawfish, alligators, Mardi Gras beads, gumbo and Spanish moss. But the last, I’ve come to appreciate in a William Faulkner sense: Spanish moss as garland for the south, conjuring up both warm, jovial aesthetics and cold, haunting histories.

3 thoughts on “Some more old ghosts

Leave a Reply

Cogtography

© 2014 Tom Coghill Photography, All Rights Reserved

Cardinal Guzman

Encyclopedia Miscellaneous - 'quality' blogging since August 2011

Jeff Sinon Photography

Nature Through The Lens

Cfbookchick - a Girl, a Camera, a Challenge...

The goal is not to change your subjects, but for the subject to change the photographer.

Spiderpaw's Blog

Photography as I see it

HDR shooter

HDR photos by Miroslav Petrasko

Captured by Pam

A click a day keeps creativity at bay.

Photo-Q

photography by Joshua Quattlebaum

Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Everyday, an Adventure.

Herding Cats. Treading Water.

Lightscapes Nature Photography Blog

Kerry Mark Leibowitz's musings on the wonderful world of nature photography

Mufidah Kassalias

Writer, Photographer & Slow-Travelling Digital Nomad

Imagery of Light

Photography by Sheila Creighton

PHOTOGRAPHIC MEMORY

A Free To Share Chronicle by Michael Xavier Ortiz

Digital Darkroom Techniques

Sharing ideas and how-to's about post processing your digital images

Steven Tze Photography

Journey from picture taker to photographer

A Quan Ha Photo

my life, one photo at a time

Emily's Photography Blog

Every picture has a story to tell... verbally or silently.

