Best Directions Often Come From Faulty Maps

Pictured above is the underbelly of the I-220 bridge that stretches over Cross Lake. (Black & White version here).  I set out this morning with a focused shoot for Cross Lake. I had reconn’d the lake and found a swamp area that looked to harbor some landscapes that would fit into the current set I’ve been working on. I packed an assortment of lenses, filters and a versatile tripod. I checked the weather, sunrise time, and estimated the best arrival time. The trip took roughly 45 minutes and encountered skeletal traffic. I finished the last of my coffee and stepped out to my first stop only to realize with all my planning, I didn’t have a single battery with me. Oy.  Time for the reset button.

I mention this because I’m not a planner. Usually, I have an idea of what I want to photgraph and head out with a vague idea of where I might find that subject. Sometimes I find it, but most of the time, I end up stumbling upon something unknown but worthwhile. By the time I picked up the batteries from home and gassed up, I then had to fight through Sunday morning slowpoke drivers and those headed to the lakes for a boating day. By that point I was anxious to get out and photograph something, anything. I switched over to Plan B that was about a railroad yard near the lake. My Droid led me down a road that quickly turned out to be wrong. The map pin was close but no roads were leading in the direction. After a few u-turns and backtracking, I started to lose my bearings and right when I about to call it, I came across the pictured above, which turned out to be the spot of the day. I had heard that the bridge was interesting to photo from underneath, but it was down on my list for exploring. And besides, there was suppose to be a railroad yard around here.

Later, I finally made it back to the area I had researched. It turned out to be a total bust. There were some interesting cypress trees but without spanish moss garlands, despite what I had seen photographed there previously. It was also hard to get a good vista and the best ones looked only accessible by boat. I did get some good trunk photographs which I will process at some point this week. In sum, I think I’ll return to indiscriminate wandering rather than tightly scripted outings.

I finished the laborious task of updating and upgrading. I rebuilt based on a less convoluted work-flow and made a few painful decisions on standardizing (made new logo to boot!). As for processing, I really liked every photo of this bridge. And every “go to” method I used worked well. So for this first one, I went with the grain of the natural capture. The vanishing point diffused nicely in the RAW file. In Viveza (Nik Software), I used two control points to bring out the saturation on the natural blues of the water and the orange tints from the aging bridge columns. I cropped out the foreground as I felt it distracted (for this process) the symmetry of the bridge. Although I did locate some nice cypress trees, get ready for a few days of bridge underbellies.

3 thoughts on “Best Directions Often Come From Faulty Maps

Leave a Reply

Cogtography

© 2014 Tom Coghill Photography, All Rights Reserved

Cardinal Guzman

Encyclopedia Miscellaneous - 'quality' blogging since August 2011

Jeff Sinon Photography

Nature Through The Lens

Cfbookchick - a Girl, a Camera, a Challenge...

The goal is not to change your subjects, but for the subject to change the photographer.

Spiderpaw's Blog

Photography as I see it

HDR shooter

HDR photos by Miroslav Petrasko

Captured by Pam

A click a day keeps creativity at bay.

Photo-Q

photography by Joshua Quattlebaum

Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Everyday, an Adventure.

Herding Cats. Treading Water.

Lightscapes Nature Photography Blog

Kerry Mark Leibowitz's musings on the wonderful world of nature photography

Mufidah Kassalias

Writer, Photographer & Slow-Travelling Digital Nomad

Imagery of Light

Photography by Sheila Creighton

PHOTOGRAPHIC MEMORY

A Free To Share Chronicle by Michael Xavier Ortiz

Digital Darkroom Techniques

Sharing ideas and how-to's about post processing your digital images

Steven Tze Photography

Journey from picture taker to photographer

A Quan Ha Photo

my life, one photo at a time

Emily's Photography Blog

Every picture has a story to tell... verbally or silently.

