Some Magnum in the Morning

Driving to work this morning, I spotted this tractor at the front of a young cornfield. Like a fish after a well concocted bait, I yanked my car over into the shoulder, grabbed the camera off the seat and was off, leaving the door wide open and radio blaring. It all seemed too easy: new, bright red tractor angle-parked in front of vibrant green cornfield—dark,  low moody clouds moving in—it felt staged.  I took a knee and pressed my back to my bumper for support and fired away.

All of this is what I’ve really came to love about photography. Enjoyable results stem from a mixture of focused labor and happenstance.

As for processing, this was a bracketed with 3 shots: 0, -2, 2. I processed this in Nik Software’s HDR plugin, a plugin I used for the first time and was pleased with the results. I’ve used the nearly seminal Photomatix and it lives up to its hype, but I just wanted to check a few others before I settled on a primary. Having Nik’s Control Point tool is pretty handy. One rub I found with many HDR softwares is the global approach. To get one area where you want it, you sometimes have to trade-off with another. The local adjustment of Nik’s software helps soften that somewhat. After the HDR process, I used Color Efex to work on saturation and contrast. The photo in my head when I saw this scene was red, green and sky so I made some tweaks to emphasize those areas.

2 thoughts on “Some Magnum in the Morning

  1. The sky is really full on! I really like the reds and greens too. One of my favourite elements resulting from HDR processing is the reflections – the structured reflections in the glass on the side window are really eye-catching. I have to say that I still use both Photomatix and HDR Efex Pro. I find the controls in HDR Efex Pro more flexible, but sometimes I like the results out of Photomatix a bit more. I’ve read a few comparative reviews of the two products and Nik seems slightly preferred.

Leave a Reply

Cogtography

© 2014 Tom Coghill Photography, All Rights Reserved

Cardinal Guzman

Encyclopedia Miscellaneous - 'quality' blogging since August 2011

Jeff Sinon Photography

Nature Through The Lens

Cfbookchick - a Girl, a Camera, a Challenge...

The goal is not to change your subjects, but for the subject to change the photographer.

Spiderpaw's Blog

Photography as I see it

HDR shooter

HDR photos by Miroslav Petrasko

Captured by Pam

A click a day keeps creativity at bay.

Photo-Q

photography by Joshua Quattlebaum

Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Everyday, an Adventure.

Herding Cats. Treading Water.

Lightscapes Nature Photography Blog

Kerry Mark Leibowitz's musings on the wonderful world of nature photography

Mufidah Kassalias

Writer, Photographer & Slow-Travelling Digital Nomad

Imagery of Light

Photography by Sheila Creighton

PHOTOGRAPHIC MEMORY

A Free To Share Chronicle by Michael Xavier Ortiz

Digital Darkroom Techniques

Sharing ideas and how-to's about post processing your digital images

Steven Tze Photography

Journey from picture taker to photographer

A Quan Ha Photo

my life, one photo at a time

Emily's Photography Blog

Every picture has a story to tell... verbally or silently.

