Try these colors on, Dad

In May we caught a few unusual breaks from the heat, but as the calendar struck June 1st, the gloves fittingly came off, bloating out to 101 with the forecast looking like it has been cut and pasted for next 10 days. The last few evenings, I’ve sat in my patio chair half-reading, half-watching my girls run feverish around the backyard like it was 72 degrees. I really don’t know how I did it as a kid. I don’t “remember” the summers being too hot. I only remember going full on, all day, regardless of how intense the activities. Maybe it is Yellow #5, the mysterious ingredient in mac-n-cheese that seems to be an absolute “good” among kids. Perhaps the synthetic additive regulates body heat and maximizes energy efficiency.

The picture above had an incredible coincidence and better timing. I was actually reading an ebook on my phone regarding color theory in photography. The part I was reading through spoke towards the obviousness of color occurring everywhere, and more so, paying closer attention to placement and schemes in photography. As I’m reading this section, my oldest daughter is prompting me to put on “these magic glasses.” As I look up, all I see is the purple/pink right in my face. So I get her to step back a few feet, pick up my camera (always close, right), and have her repeat her last and she was for once, compliant. And there it was—a decent tetrad scheme (purple, pink, green, yellow)—out of thin air.

I’m always cautious of theory, order, and text-booked paths. I’m a bookworm but most of the fiction and poetry books I’ve really enjoyed usually shatter conventions or at least did at the time they were written. In retrospect, something caught my eye in that moment, and at first, I just framed it to be the sunglasses with missing lenses. But in hindsight, I realize it was more of the emergent pattern, specifically the luminous greens in the near tank-top and grass in the background that added to the glasses. It goes without saying that color theory works. We have centuries of art to validate. I’ve just never thought at length of its inclusion in photography, which now, like color, seems obvious.

As for processing, there was little on this one. I kicked the vibrancy up a little in Lightroom, and then with an adjustment brush, took the clarity and contrast down a little in areas of lens blur. I’m fond of Lightroom but I can’t wait for the day they release layer ability. The adjustment brushes work great, but are quite limited.

3 thoughts on “Try these colors on, Dad

Leave a Reply

Cogtography

© 2014 Tom Coghill Photography, All Rights Reserved

Cardinal Guzman

Encyclopedia Miscellaneous - 'quality' blogging since August 2011

Jeff Sinon Photography

Nature Through The Lens

Cfbookchick - a Girl, a Camera, a Challenge...

The goal is not to change your subjects, but for the subject to change the photographer.

Spiderpaw's Blog

Photography as I see it

HDR shooter

HDR photos by Miroslav Petrasko

Captured by Pam

A click a day keeps creativity at bay.

Photo-Q

photography by Joshua Quattlebaum

Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Everyday, an Adventure.

Herding Cats. Treading Water.

Lightscapes Nature Photography Blog

Kerry Mark Leibowitz's musings on the wonderful world of nature photography

Mufidah Kassalias

Writer, Photographer & Slow-Travelling Digital Nomad

Imagery of Light

Photography by Sheila Creighton

PHOTOGRAPHIC MEMORY

A Free To Share Chronicle by Michael Xavier Ortiz

Digital Darkroom Techniques

Sharing ideas and how-to's about post processing your digital images

Steven Tze Photography

Journey from picture taker to photographer

A Quan Ha Photo

my life, one photo at a time

Emily's Photography Blog

Every picture has a story to tell... verbally or silently.

